2010: CMT hosts its first CMT Artists of the Year event


The 2010 ceremony honored Taylor Swift, the Zac Brown Band, Jason Aldean, and Lady A (formerly Lady Antebellum). The 2020 event was renamed “CMT Celebrates Our Heroes: An Artists of the Year Special,” in order to celebrate health care workers during the coronavirus pandemic.

You may also like: Most-nominated artists who have never won a Grammy