Andrews named Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year, Xavius Boyd Defensive POTY

Western Kentucky University’s Antonio Andrews runs into the Troy defense during their game at WKU on Saturday, October 26, 2013. Western would go on to lose 32-26. 

Elliott Pratt

Senior running back Antonio Andrews headlines the 2013 Sun Belt Conference post-season awards. Voted by the leagues coaches and media, Andrews earn the Sun Belt Player of the Year award and the offensive POTY honor.

Senior linebacker Xavius Boyd will take home the league’s Defensive Player of the year honor.

Along with earning the league’s premiere award, Andrews, along with offensive lineman Luis Polanco, are listed on the First-Team All-SBC offense. 

Xavius and Bar’ee Boyd along with defensive backs Jonathan Dowling and Cam Thomas headline the First-Team All-SBC defensive unit. 

Senior linebacker Andrew Jackson was selected to the Second-Team All-SBC defense.

Andrews led the nation in all-purpose yards for back-to-back seasons and broke his own WKU single-season rushing record. The senior amassed 1,730, good for No. 4 in the NCAA, and scored a Sun Belt best 16 touchdowns. Andrews led the nation with 2,619 all-purpose yards and is a Paul Hornung Award finalist, given to the most versatile player in college football. 

Xavius Boyd had a breakout season for the Toppers, leading WKU and the Sun Belt Conference as a whole with 15.5 tackles for loss and 8.5 sacks while picking up 103 total tackles. 

Honorable mentions from WKU included junior wide receiver Willie McNeal and freshman offensive lineman Forrest Lamp. 

2013 All-Sun Belt Conference Football Teams

As Voted on by the League Head Coaches and Media

Sun Belt Player of the Year 

Antonio Andrews (WKU, Sr., RB)

Sun Belt Offensive Player of the Year 

Antonio Andrews (WKU, Sr., RB)

Sun Belt Defensive Player of the Year 

Xavius Boyd (WKU, Sr., LB)

Sun Belt Freshman of the Year 

Elijah McGuire (UL-Lafayette, Fr., RB)

Sun Belt Coach of the Year

Joey Jones, South Alabama

First Team All-Sun Belt Conference Offense

Corey Robinson (Troy, Sr., QB)

Alonzo Harris (UL-Lafayette, Jr., RB)

Elijah McGuire (UL-Lafayette, Fr., RB)

Antonio Andrews (WKU, Sr., RB)

J.D. McKissic (Arkansas State, So. WR)

Albert Wilson (Georgia State, Sr. WR)

Eric Thomas (Troy, Sr., WR)

Wes Saxton (South Alabama, Jr., TE)

Andre Huval (UL-Lafayette,Sr., OL)

Josh Allen (UL-Monroe, Sr., OL)

Chris May (South Alabama, So., OL)

Terrence Jones (Troy, Jr., OL)

Luis Polanco (WKU, Sr., OL)

Frist Team All-Sun Belt Conference Defense

Ryan Carrethers (Arkansas State, Sr., DL)

Romelle Jones (South Alabama, Sr., DL)

Alex Page (South Alabama, Senior, DL)

Bar’ee Boyd (WKU, Sr., DL)

Qushaun Lee (Arkansas State, Jr., LB)

Justin Anderson (UL-Lafayette, Sr., LB)

Xavius Boyd (WKU, Sr., LB)

Isaiah Newsome (UL-Monroe, Sr., DB)

Camren Hudson (Troy, Sr., DB)

Jonathan Dowling (WKU, Jr., DB)

Cam Thomas (WKU, Jr., DB)

Frist Team All-Sun Belt Conference Special Teams

Brian Davis (Arkansas State, Sr., K)

Justin Manton (UL-Monroe, Jr., P)

Darryl Surgent (UL-Lafayette, Sr., Return Specialist)

J.D. McKissic (Arkansas State, So. All-Purpose)

Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference Offense

Ross Metheny (South Alabama, Sr., QB)

Michael Gordon (Arkansas State, So., RB)

Robert Lowe (Texas State, So., RB)

Jamal Robinson (UL-Lafayette, Jr. WR)

Rashon Ceaser (UL-Monroe, So.,WR)

Shavarez Smith (South Alabama, Jr., WR)

Darion Griswold (Arkansas State, So., TE)

Bryce Giddens (Arkansas State, So, OL)

Steven Haunga (Arkansas State, Sr., OL)

Daniel Quave (UL-Lafayette, Jr., OL)

Ucambre Williams (South Alabama, Jr., OL)

Evan McKissack (Troy, Sr., OL)

Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference Defense

Justin Hamilton (UL-Lafayette, Jr., DL)

Gerrand Johnson (UL-Monroe, So., DL)

Antonio Gillespie (Troy, Sr. DL)

Tyler Roberts (Troy, So., DL)

Cameron Blakes (UL-Monroe, Sr., LB)

Enrique Williams (South Alabama, Sr., LB)

Andrew Jackson (WKU, Sr., LB)

Rocky Hayes (Arkansas State, So., DB)

Sterling Young (Arkansas State, Jr., DB)

Trevence Patt (UL-Lafayette, Jr., DB)

Justin Iwuji (Texas State, Sr., DB)

Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference Special Teams

Will Scott (Troy, Sr., K)

Will Scott (Troy, Sr., P)

J.D. McKissic (Arkansas State, So. Return Specialist)

Albert Wilson (Georgia State, Sr. All-Purpose)

Honorable Mention All-Sun Belt Conference

Adam Kennedy (Arkansas State, Sr., QB); Chris Stone (Arkansas State, So., DL); Ulrick John (Georgia State, Sr., OL); Joseph Peterson (Georgia State, So., LB); Jacob Maxwell (UL-Lafayette, Sr., TE); Dominique Tovell (UL-Lafayette, So., LB); Kolton Browning (UL-Monroe, Sr., QB); Centarius Donald (UL-Monroe, Jr., RB); Jay Jones (South Alabama, Jr., RB); Aleem Sunanon (South Alabama, r-Fr., K); David Mayo (Texas State, Jr., LB); Mike Orakpo (Texas State, Jr., LB); Jordan Chunn (Troy, Fr., RB); Bryan Holmes (Troy, So., WR); Willie McNeal (WKU, Jr., WR); Forrest Lamp (WKU, r-Fr., OL)