Soccer team honored by Sun Belt Conference

Jonah Phillips

Coach Jason Neidell was honored as the Sun Belt Conference Coach of the Year on Monday after leading the Lady Topper soccer team to the 2013 regular season title. 

Honors for WKU continued when seven Lady Toppers, the most in school history, were named All-Sun Belt Conference by the league Tuesday evening at the pre-tournament banquet.

Seniors Chrissy Tchoula, Torrie Lange, and Nora Abolins were first team All-Sun Belt Conference selections, while freshman Iris Dunn, sophomore Chandler Clark, and seniors Andrea Curry and Stephanie Lindsey were second team All-Sun Belt Conference honorees.

WKU also captured both the regular season title and the Sun Belt Conference Team Academic Award with a team GPA of 3.59.

Neidell guided the Lady Toppers to their second conference crown in program history to secure his second career Sun Belt Conference Coach of the Year honor. As the only coach in WKU’s soccer program history, Neidell has led WKU to more wins than any Sun Belt program since 2007.

“It’s very humbling to be voted Coach of the Year by my colleagues, but it is a credit to our players and staff for the work that they put in every day to help me accomplish this,” Neidell said. “I appreciate everything they do on and off the field. I’m proud to be associated with this talented group of individuals.”