C-USA adds FAU, MTSU, not WKU

Herald Staff

Two Sun Belt Conference schools left the league Wednesday for Conference-USA, but WKU wasn’t among them.

Middle Tennessee State, Sun Belt members since 2001, and Florida Atlantic, full members since 2006, both announced membership agreements with the C-USA.

As of today, the departures of FAU and MTSU to the C-USA give that league 14 football-playing members when the two join, likely for the 2014-15 academic year. Meanwhile, the Sun Belt would have 10 full members, eight of which play football.

WKU didn’t confirm reports that surfaced Wednesday saying the C-USA was looking to expand to 16 teams and that WKU and New Mexico State could be the schools next in line for bids.

“Conference re-alignment is an ongoing and fluid process,” President Gary Ransdell and Athletics Director Todd Stewart said in a statement. “We continually monitor and analyze all of the many dynamics and variables involved.

“We emphasize that, as always, every decision we make will be in the best interests of Western Kentucky University.”

C-USA commissioner Britton Banowsky also said Thursday that he had no knowledge of those reports.

Should WKU choose to leave the Sun Belt for the C-USA or another conference, the school would owe the league a $1 million exit fee.