WKU students elect new SGA senators

Taylor Harrison

The Student Government Association’s senator election results were announced just after midnight on Thursday.

SGA’s new senators are:  Kelley Boothe, Hannah Garland, Corey Johnson, Elizabeth Wininger, Mallory Chaney, Mallory Treece, Kevin Asbery, Christopher Costa, Jordan Campbell, Nolan Miles and Ross Nowland.

A total of 20 students ran for senate, and 977 voted in the election.

Newly-elected Bowling Green sophomore Christopher Costa was understandably pleased with the election results.

“I’m just happy that I can get involved and be a part of something on campus and hopefully make a difference,” Costa said. “There were some particular issues that I felt passionate about, and I felt the best way for me to have an effect on those issues was to run.”

Bardstown freshman Nolan Miles said he decided to run because he was involved in government at his high school and wanted that to carry over into college.

“I was really nervous at first because I really wanted to be a senator for SGA and I’m proud to be elected to the new position,” he said.

SGA President Billy Stephens said he was happy with the voter turnout, especially for a fall election. He was also pleased with the number of students that ran for senate.

“What I really wanted today was a contested election and I got that,” Stephens said.

Stephens said when multiple candidates seek office, they have to work hard and campaign for the position.

“I’m just glad that they’re involved,” he said.

Stephens said people who didn’t get elected or are just now getting interested in student government can contact him to find other ways to get involved.