ROTC program wins national MacArthur award

Joanna Williams

The WKU ROTC program has won the esteemed MacArthur scholarship, according to a WKU press release.

The award, named after Gen. Douglas MacArthur, recognizes the strongest ROTC programs in the nation and is presented to individual battalions that have excelled during the fiscal year, according to the press release.

LT. Col. Jason T. Caldwell, professor of Military Science and Leadership, said in the press release that award was unexpected, but is an ode to how hard the cadets and cadre have performed throughout the year.

Since 1989, the General Douglas MacArthur foundation, along with the U.S. Army Cadet Command, acknowledges the best of the 272 battalions in the nation, according to the press release.

Basis for the award includes Cadet National Order of Merit List, cadet retention ratio, quality and performance of military training and newly commissioned second lieutenants, according to the press release.

Other winners of 2011 award include Texas A&M University, St. Johns University, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, James Madison University, Georgia Southern University and Pacific Lutheran University, according to the press release.

There will be a formal presentation of the award in the spring, according to the press release.