WKU honors 22 at Summit Awards

Stephani Stacy

Leslie Watkins, a member of the WKU Symphony Board of Directors, said she was surprised and honored when the Alumni Association office informed her that she was an honoree for the 2010 Summit Awards this year.

“I am passionate about the symphony at WKU because of the opportunities it affords the students to play classical music alongside professionals,” Watkins said.

Watkins is just one of the 22 Summit Awards Honorees who were recognized for tonight at the Carroll Knicely Conference Center for their volunteer work.

Watkins became involved with the symphony through her position as a senior director of development of the Potter College of Arts and Letters and has worked with the Symphony for 9 years. She said the most poignant experience she has had was when, at the symphony’s first concert this season, a little girl told her she had never seen anything like that in her life and that she wanted to write a paper about “the lady in the front playing the violin,” who was actually the concert master.

“She was amazed by the concert master, Watkins said. “I think that experience changed her life.”

Others honorees include:

Claire Arnold of the College of Health and Human Services Stakeholders Advisory Board;

Brenda Bush of the WKU-Glasgow Advisory Board;

David Chandler of the “New Century of Spirit” Campaign Cabinet;” Ronnie Clark of the College Heights Foundation;

Warren and Darlene Eisenstein of The Center for Gifted Studies Advisory Board;

Dick Frockt of the President’s Board of Advisors;

Gary Hairlson, a Journalism Workshop Volunteer;

Ron Hatcher of the WKU Museum Advisory Council;

Jan Hensley of the College of Education and Behavioral Sciences Advisory Board;

Glen Higdon of the WKU Foundation Board;

Anna Jo Johnson of the WKU Libraries Advisory Council;

Brian King, a WKYU-PBS Volunteer;

Susie Likes, a WKU Public Radio Volunteer;

Joe Morel of the Young Alumni Council;

Renee Perkins of the School of Nursing Advisory Board;

Howard Pincus of the National Alumni Association Board of Directors;

Greg and Sherry Ryle of the Parents’ Advisory Council;

Lowell Shank of the Ogden Foundation;

Greg Stivers of the Hilltopper Athletic Foundation;

Yvonne Turner of the W-Club Board of Directors;

Leslie Watkins of the Symphony Board of Directors;

and Keith Williams of the Society of African-American Alumni Executive Committee.