2010 WKU athletic hall of fame inductees announced

Herald Staff

Per a WKU release:

Four former Western Kentucky University athletes and one Hilltopper coaching legend will be inducted as the 20th class into the WKU Athletic Hall of Fame in ceremonies set for Homecoming Weekend this fall.

The members of the 2010 class are:  Chuck Durrant (track);  Al Ellison (men’s basketball);  Tellis Frank (men’s basketball);  Coach Bill Powell (swimming & diving);  and Joey Stockton (football).

The induction of the 2010 class will bring to 122 the number of former WKU athletes and coaches who have earned berths in the school’s Athletic Hall of Fame since its founding in 1991.

The 2010 class will be inducted in ceremonies during the annual W-Club Homecoming Brunch, set for 10 a.m. (CT), Saturday, Oct. 30, on the Main Floor of E.A. Diddle Arena on the WKU campus in Bowling Green.

Tickets for the event, which is open to the general public, are $15 each and can be purchased and/or reserved online at www.alumni.wku.edu/wclubbrunch10 or by calling 1-888-WKU-ALUM (1-888-958-2586) or, locally in the Bowling Green area, 745-4395; or, by contacting either W-Club Treasurer Bill Edwards (270-745-6026; [email protected]) or W-Club Secretary Paul Just (270-792-4247; [email protected]).

Each W-Club member who has paid his/her 2010-11 dues is entitled to two complimentary tickets to the event;  however, seating is limited and reservations MUST be made — either online, or with Edwards or Just — to ensure seating is available.  Non-members, and the general public, are required to purchase tickets ($15 each).  Letterwinners who have not yet paid their ‘10-11 dues may do so online via credit card or at the door with a prior reservation.

The inductees will also be honored in ceremonies on Jimmy Feix Field at halftime of the annual Homecoming Football Game, set to kickoff at 2 p.m. (CST), that afternoon.  New Head Coach — and member of the WKU Athletic Hall of Fame — Willie Taggart will pit his Hilltoppers against Sun Belt Conference foe North Texas at Houchens Industries – L.T. Smith Stadium.