SGA announces election results


Sean McInnis

Members of the WKU Student Government Association executive cabinet listen to proposals from senate member nominees at the meeting in Bowling Green, Ky. on Aug. 30, 2022. Sean McInnis / College Heights Herald

Michael Crimmins, Administration reporter

Western Kentucky University’s Student Government Association opened its election for numerous senatorial and administrative positions on TopNet on Monday, April 17.

The election results were announced at approximately 12:30 a.m. Wednesday morning in the senate chambers in Downing Student Union.

Sam Kurtz, the former administrative vice president, was elected student body president. Also, running with Kurtz on the executive ticket, Salvador León was named administrative vice president and Annalise Finch was elected as executive vice president. The ticket ran unopposed. 

“Hilltoppers, we are incredibly honored and humbled to have been elected as the next Student Government leaders for the student body of Western Kentucky University,” Sam Kurtz said via email. “Together, we can achieve great success and create a positive impact on this campus, this community, and the city of Bowling Green. We promise to listen to students’ concerns, represent their voices, lead with integrity, and promote transparency. KFL would also like to recognize the newly elected senate, as we are very excited to see the initiatives they bring forth. We are excited to get to work as your next Student Body President, Executive Vice President, and Administrative Vice President. Go Tops!”

Fourteen students were elected to be At-Large senators for the fall 2023 semester. 

They were: Sydney Denney, Maiah Cisco, Lyndsey Kelley, Griffin Plumb, Megan Farmer, Carly Wheat, Meghan Pierce, Joel Hornback, Layne Pea, Dylan Carmona, Ella Wooton, Ryan Dilts, Sophia Bryant, and Thomas Pabin.

Kayla Distler was elected as the College of Education & Behavioral Science senator.

Madison Payne was elected as the Ogden College of Science & Engineering senator.

Connor Ferguson was elected to be the senator for Gordon Ford College of Business .

Julia Duggins was elected as the College of Health & Human Services senator.

David Darnell was elected as the senator for the Potter College of Arts & Letters.

Tanner Blood was elected as a first generation senator.

Three individuals were elected as senior senators: Samatha Bodemann, Will Hemenover and Connor Flatt. Ethan Taylor, Anne-Marie Wright and Sarah Vincent were also elected as junior senators and Rush Robinson, Callison Padgett and Hannah Evans were elected sophomore senators.

The election results were read by Justin Goins, chief justice of the SGA Judicial Council.

Administrative reporter Michael Crimmins can be reached at [email protected].