SGA confirms new senators, election codes during first meeting


Jake Jones, News reporter

The Student Government Association met on Tuesday, Aug. 13 where they confirmed student senate nominations and new election codes.

The meeting began with brief remarks from SGA President Matthew Wininger, welcoming both new and old senators to the second meeting of the 21st Senate. 

He then went into senate candidate confirmations, consisting of students who were voted into the Senate the previous semester and awaited official confirmation by the SGA body. Three senate nominations were postponed due to COVID-19 diagnoses.

All Senators present at the meeting were confirmed with unanimous consent and promptly sworn in by Chief Justice Holden Schroeder. 

Along with Senator confirmations, other executive position confirmations took place during this week’s SGA meeting. These included the confirmation of Jamison Moorehead as IT director, Alexis Courtenay as public relations director, and Parker Raybourne as chief of staff. All nominees passed with unanimous consent and were promptly sworn in by Schroeder. 

Administrative Vice President Reed Breunig announced the SGA budget would be up for a confirmation vote at next week’s meeting.

Schroeder informed the senate of the new election codes for the next semester, which were passed with unanimous consent. 

News reporter Jake Jones can be reached at [email protected].