SGA announces fall election results, 17 senators elected

Trey Crumbie

A crowd of about 15 people gathered in the Senate Chamber of DSU to hear the results of the Student Government Association’s fall election.

The results were announced around 12:20 a.m. There were 742 voters and 17 senators were elected.

SGA President Nicki Seay said the election was very competitive and not everyone who ran received a senate seat. 

“It’s sad that we can’t have everybody, “ she said.

Bowling Green freshman Emily Pride, one of the freshmen senators, said she was happy she got elected.

“I love being a freshman,” she said. “I love everything about Western, I’m from Bowling Green and I’m just super excited to get started with it.” 

The senators-elect will be sworn in during SGA’s next meeting on Sept. 30.

Election Results 

Freshmen senators: Emily Pride (281 votes), Haley Jones (233 votes), Nathan Cherry (162 votes).

Graduate senators: Simone M. Smith (251 votes), Zafar Cham (237 votes).

Gatton Academy senator: Lucas Knight (134 votes).

Arts and Letters College senator: Ben Beam (36 votes).

Science and Engineering College senator: Carter Jackson (42 votes).

Business College senator: Grant Williams (42 votes). 

At-Large senators: Ryan Puckett (134 votes), Laryn Hilderbrandt (132 votes), Ryan Duvall (128 votes), Nolan Calhoun (126 votes), Gretchen Mosby (125 votes), Tony Piedmonte (120 votes), Cameron Hubbard (113 votes), Grant Rohleder (113 votes).