Stephens wins SGA presidential election over Leal Ambriz

Hawesville junior Billy Stephens, center right, is congratulated by Monterrey, Mexico, senior Diego Leal Ambriz just after midnight Thursday morning in the DLI room on the first floor of the Downing University Center. Stephens beat Leal Ambriz 597 votes to 469 and will serve as SGA president next year. “I’m just really pumped,” Stephens said.

Mike Stunson

Billy Stephens is WKU’s next student body president.

It was announced at just after 12 a.m. Thursday morning that Stephens, a junior from Hawesville, had beaten out Diego Leal Ambriz, a senior from Monterrey, Mexico, in the Student Government Association’s spring 2011 presidential election.

Stephens collected 56 percent of the 1,066 total votes.

“I couldn’t be more happy,” he said. “At the end of the day, I’m just really humble and really honored.”

Current President Colton Jessie said he’s proud to call Stephens his successor.

“Billy is a fantastic candidate for the job,” Jessie said. “He has been in SGA for a while and has plenty of experience. He is ready for this.”

Elizabethtown graduate student Kendrick Bryan was re-elected as executive vice president and Bardstown sophomore Devon Hilderbrandt as administrative vice president. Both ran unopposed.

The 35 senators who ran for 36 open spots were all elected. Each needed just one vote to make the senate.

Poorvie Patel received the most senate votes with 631, while Eric Smiley collected 585. Kaylee Egerer rounded out the top three with 573 votes.

Even with one senate seat open, Leal Ambriz said he’s not sure if he will stay a part of SGA next year.

“I might focus on other activities, but I will see what I can do,” Leal Ambriz said. “I am still trying to plan.”