Three Hilltoppers named to national awards watch list


Elliott Pratt

WKU football continues to pick up the preseason awards nominations, with the latest watch list being announced Tuesday.

The Rimington, Maxwell, and the Bednarik award goes to the most outstanding position player in the NCAA according to each award, and the Toppers are represented in all three.

Senior running back Antonio Andrews added to his already heavy preseason award shelf with being named to the Maxwell Award watch list, which goes to the country’s college player of the year. This comes as Andrews’ second major award nomination after previously being named to the Paul Hornung Award watch list.

Junior linebacker Andrew Jackson, who also is on the Paul Hornung Award watch list, has been selected to the Bednarik Award watch list. The Bendnarik Award goes to the College Defensive Player of the Year.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced Oct. 29, with the three finalists for each award to be announced Nov. 25.

Senior center Sean Conway has been named to the Rimington Trophy watch list, awarded to the top center in the country each year.

Last year marked the third consecutive season where Conway has started every game for WKU. He helped the Hilltoppers to rush 181.7 yards per game last year, good for third in the Sun Belt Conference.