University responds to executive order placing ban on immigration

Herald Staff

In response to the White House Executive Order banning entry into the United States from seven predominantly Muslim countries, WKU released a statement that University officials have identified 22 students and at least two faculty members who are from the seven countries named.

“We are reaching out to each of them individually and advising that they not travel out of the U.S. while this ban is in place,” the statement read, noting that the University is unaware of any WKU students or faculty members who are currently overseas or being prevented from re-entering the country.

The order suspends immigration from seven countries including Iraq, Syria, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Somalia and Yemen for 90 days.

“First and foremost, I want to send the message to our international students and faculty that you are an important member of the WKU family, and you are safe and welcome here,” President Gary Ransdell wrote in an email to WKU faculty and staff, encouraging sensitivity to those directly impacted by the order.

WKU officials are remaining in close contact with the impacted students and faculty, according to the email.

“Internationalization remains a high priority at WKU, and the University is committed to providing a safe and welcoming environment for all people, regardless of nationality,” Ransdell said.