SGA election results

Jay Todd Richey

Herald staff

Jay Todd Richey is the new Student Government Association president. 

Richey defeated senator Brian Chism in the elections, 63 percent to 37 percent (874 to 524), according to tabulations.

Polls closed at 11:59 p.m. on TopNet on Wednesday night. SGA officials then tabulated the results, and winners were announced 20 minutes later. 

Richey will not only serve as SGA president but also student regent on the WKU Board of Regents. 

Other executive office winners include Nolan Miles, who ran unopposed for a second term as executive vice-president. Liz Koehler won by 66 percent for the administrative vice-president position over J. William Berry.  

Student senators include Brian Chism, Haley Jones, Emily Pride, Zach Jones, Megan Skaggs, Haylie Craver, Daniel Aroh, Nathan Cherry, Hunter Peay, Jodie Dahmer, Temple Ricke, Madison Keller, Braxton Powell, Hannah Neeper, Julia “Gracie” Price, Megan Ward, Cole McDowell, Mary “Kate” Hart, Paige Settles and Sophia Whorf. 

Only 20 of the 34 senatorial candidates could win a position. 

The Herald will continue updating this story.