Zappe wins the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award


Steve Roberts/WKU Athletics

WKU quarterback Bailey Zappe (4) went 46-of-64 for 488 yards and three touchdowns but the Hilltoppers fell to No. 17 Michigan State 48-31 on Oct. 2, 2021 in East Lansing, Michigan.

Wyatt Sparkman, Sports Editor

WKU graduate quarterback Bailey Zappe was announced the winner of the Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award Wednesday night. 

According to the award’s website, the award is “to recognize the nation’s college offensive player of the year who makes the award’s criteria and to encourage student-athletes to succeed on and off the field while having the drive and tenacity to persist and overcome adversity and injury in the pursuit of reaching their goals.”

The criteria for the award is to meet one of the objectives: to be born in Texas and/or graduate from a Texas high school and/or play at a Texas-based junior college or four-year college.

Zappe becomes the ninth winner of the award after his record-breaking season and is the second Hilltopper in the school’s FBS Era to win a national award. He broke the FBS single-season passing yards (5,967) and touchdowns records (62) in first year of FBS play this season. 

The Victoria, Texas, native was also named Conference USA’s Most Valuable Player. He will play in the Reese’s Senior Bowl on Feb. 5 while joining his fellow Hilltopper DeAngelo Malone at the 2022 NFL combine on March 1-7.

Sports Editor Wyatt Sparkman can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter @wyattsparkman3.